Frozen II: A Film Review

I know that it’s been MONTHS since this film released into theaters, and that everyone has read as many of these Frozen II film reviews as they can possibly stomach to the point of boredom and yawnery, but since I’ve gone to see it in theaters with my family, there are some things that, well, I just can’t Let It Go.

Sorry, I HAD to use that joke.

Like any sequel released nearly a decade after the first installment, there are ludicrous discrepancies that make no sense, the music is less stunning (though still beautiful), and political correctness has seeped down into the subconscious (though more likely on purpose) of every person involved with this film.

I’m not trying to say this movie isn’t gorgeous. Visually and auditorily, it’s stunning. The special effects and CGI animation are killer. The design of the clothes and scenery the characters wear and interact with are just. . . breathtaking. Anna’s gown at the conclusion of the film is the stuff of MY OWN adult fantasies (gimme that velvety forest green with golden detail. All. The. Win). The music is beautiful. . . except when it isn’t (and when it isn’t I writhed in my chair; and I’m not even that good of a musician).

The plot of this sequel is allllll over the place, from my perspective.

It tightens as we move into the end of the second, and beginning of the third, act, but the motives of the characters and the reason they do what they do feels weak; with Elsa, the character who in her debut film wanted only to protect her little sister, flinging everything off into the wind more literally than she unclasped her purple cape in Frozen I; including her caution not to let Anna get hurt.

The opening of the film suggests that Elsa’s powers are growing, and because they are growing, she is hearing some sort of Voice calling to her in the distance, beckoning for her hypnotically. This is all intriguing, but unfortunately Elsa’s ice powers never seem to exceed the same abilities she exhibited in the first movie. Which immediately kills the possibility that because her magic is maturing to its maximum capacity she’s finally able to answer her true calling.

Another plot-funk is that Elsa is this mythical “fifth element”, yet she is nearly frozen to death by. . . what, herself? I’m endlessly confused as to how THAT works. She’s supposed to bring harmony to earth, air, fire, water, but can’t manage to keep herself from being frozen. And then SOMEHOW she unfreezes (again through Anna’s love? Isn’t that overkill at this point?) and manages to RUSH to Arendelle in time to prevent the tsunami from flattening the Nordic kingdom.

There is also the fact that Elsa blamed herself for the reason her parents died. Was that ever completely resolved? It didn’t feel like it to me; that seemed to be some deep-seated self-hatred. A momentary patch job isn’t going to permanently heal that emotional and mental wound.

Then I find myself troubled by Elsa’s solo in Ahtohallan “Show Yourself”, which puts her in a spiritual position of HERSELF as God/a deity.

Show yourself
I’m dying to meet you
Show yourself
It’s your turn
Are you the one I’ve been looking for
All of my life?
Show yourself
I’m ready to learn

I’ve never felt so certain
All my life I’ve been torn
But I’m here for a reason
Could it be the reason I was born?
I have always been so different
Normal rules did not apply
Is this the day?
Are you the way
I finally find out why?

Show yourself
I’m no longer trembling
Here I am
I’ve come so far
You are the answer I’ve waited for
All of my life
Oh, show yourself
Let me see who you are

Show Yourself, Frozen II

All this time we’ve been led to believe Elsa is searching for an ENTITY, a Something, an Other. A Greater Being who will explain to her why she is as she is, and how to be who she feels she needs to become. Only to discover that this Entity is, actually, just herself.

Show yourself
Step into the power
Grow yourself
Into something new
You are the one you’ve been waiting for
All of my life (All of your life)
Oh, show yourself

Show Yourself, Frozen II

Meaning that all the answers she was searching for are never going to happen, and she will never really know what she wanted. Elsa sought after spiritual peace, only to discover that she’s not going to get it because the only god-being is herself, there is no other.

And that just infuriates me.

Because little kids are going to see this and hear “the only person to help you is you, there is no one else”, and that is a lie.

I know this is supposed to be a children’s movie, and it’s not best to go into it too deep because it’s not meant to make physical or logical sense, but PLOTS are SUPPOSED TO MAKE SENSE, even in a Nornsforsaken fantasy story. When someone goes in search of answers, they are supposed to get those bloody answers. When a hypnotic enchanting voice vocalizes from beyond the ocean and the ends of the earth, IT IS FROM ANOTHER ENTITY/BEING. Not from YOURSELF.

And when your magical powers are supposedly growing immeasurably, SHOW HOW THEY’RE GROWING FOR THE LOVE OF TEA AND THOMAS!

In the end I simply feel torn on my sentiments toward this film. I love it from a visual perspective (ohmygosh I just. . . But some of the songs are truly awful); for instance the scene where Elsa tames the kelpie to ride to Ahtohallan is stunning, and the music as she begins to sing “Show Yourself” almost made me cry. I adored it, but found myself abhorrent of the rest of the song’s lyrics and what the film was saying subliminally.

I LOVED all of the scenery along their adventure, and how it was autumn and the leaves were turning scarlet and gold; and the grains of wheat sewn onto all of Anna’s garments.

But I grew irritated with how Anna continuously discarded Kristoff until she needed him, and then he was brought back and made to matter; also his attempts at proposing grated sharply. I found myself rolling my eyes each time Anna didn’t bother to understand him and instead thought he was inferring something else.

A great deal of Olaf’s scenes BOGGED DOWN the progression and pacing and I remember looking down at my phone more than once whenever he took center stage. His song about understanding everything when he grew up was cute, until his mantra about understanding when he was older became annoying. Even the little kids in the row behind me were shifting around, impatient for his lines to end when he dominated the screen. There’s only so much ANYONE can take of saccharine whimsy before you want to vomit and banish all sight of it from your presence.

Did I enjoy this movie? Yes, absolutely. I think it’s darling and very watchable; kids are gonna devour it and I’m sure my sisters will play “Show Yourself” until I’m hearing it in my sleep and wishing I couldn’t speak English.

But does this movie have issues? Yes, absolutely. And the fact that it teaches children to place themselves into the position of God concerns me. But, that’s the typical narrative of the world. There is no meaning to life and you had best make yourself happy as the center of your universe.

I’d rate this long-in-coming (but never doubted) sequel Disney animation as 3/5 stars. I’ll watch it again, and again (and again), but I’ll always rankle at the poor plot-work it executed. Too many threads and not enough knots.

But what were your thoughts on the movie? I’d love to hear them!

Until next time,

Leave a comment