Before the End Game

As I do before going to see a movie, or leading up to the release of a film that I’m Big-Time invested in and have been following quite closely: here’s the post before the post about the film.

Avengers: Endgame is the big finale. It’s what the whole Marvel Cinematic Universe has been leading up to since Avengers: Assemble (the first Avengers film in 2012). Some might say Iron Man in 2008 was when this whole herculean endeavor was first formulated, but I really think it only truly began to take a name for itself in 2012, with the success of Avengers: Assemble. That was when a unique, new cinematic genre was born. Superheroes proved without a doubt that they could transfer from comic books to silver screen effectively.

Related image

It wasn’t a fluke (yes there are some stillborns among the record 22 films and counting), and it’s not just a passing phase. Superheroes have become even bigger than Star Wars, and Marvel has done something that geeks and nerds haven’t been able to do for decades: prove that there is something cool in comics that the normies should check out. Even if it’s only with popcorn and soda in the local theater.

True, there are so many superheroes now that the film industry does at times feel oversaturated; spinning out less-than-ready feature films (lookin’ at you, Captain Marvel, Thor: Ragnarok, Batman v. Superman, et al). And keeping track of which supers belong to which franchise is a task not for the faint of heart or the easily-daunted. But, despite all of that, I think it’s safe to say that heroes have won our hearts and they’re here to stay.

Though, certain ones might be relegated to the halls of fame and glory in Valhalla. Because Endgame is gonna force us to say goodbye to a lot of the characters we’ve come to know and love, I’m pretty sure. How many, I can’t say; but more than 2? I think definitely.

For all of the original cast that appeared in Avengers: Assemble all the way back in 2012, this is the final run, the last adventure. Contracts are up and gazes are moving on to different things, new films, new adventures, new challenges to face.

And now that’s down to me, a freaking fangirl. I’m definitely feeling nervous as well as excited. I think it’s just a whole bunch of emotions at this moment. People are going to die, and I dunno if I’m prepared.

I can safely say that accurately these are my range of mood:

So, yeah. . . excitement mixed with blatant, obvious, sheer terror and grief. I’m really, really excited and hoping that Loki AT LEAST SHOWS UP AS A CAMEO. AT THIS POINT I WILL TAKE ANYTHING, MARVEL, LITERALLY ANYTHING. AS LONG AS IT’S GOOD. PLEASE BE GOOD. JUST DECENT. JUST BETTER THAN GAGNAROK.

I just want to see him. Alive. And talking with that beautiful accent of his. And being gorgeous and smooth; good or evil I’m of no mind.

At the moment.

It’ll come, though, in time. Like, after I see the film. If Loki is done wrong you can BET I’ll be speaking of it for an eternity and beyond. Also criticizing Captain Marvel aka Carol Danvers aka Brie Larson’s platform for feminazi postmodernistic activism.

Oh yes, I’ll definitely be criticizing her royal Mary Sue-ness.

So, yeah, going into this I’m both excited and feeling heaps and HEAPS of nostalgia and bittersweetness and joy and sadness and a sort of mellow-yet-fond-yet-tearful this is the end. This is really it, after all this time of theorizing and speculating and reading the list of upcoming MCU films, it’s finally here. Avengers 4.

I’m preparing to perhaps cry, I tell you. Preparing to sob. I am so not ready for this to be the end, but at the same time, I am extremely excited.

Until next time,

Leave a comment